+378 (0549) 941539      registration@smar.aero

Type Certificate

A Type Certificate (TC) and the associated Type Certificate Data Sheets (TCDS) issued by the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) of the United States, Transport Canada, or the European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA) will be acceptable to the CAA SMR.

In practice this means that the CAA SMR will accept an aircraft from any of the above NAAs without the aircraft having to undergo any modifications to revert it to the certification standard of the State of Design.

The Type Acceptance Certificate (TAC) covers the entire aircraft and any engine/airframe combination covered by the TCDS.

In the matter of STCs embodied on an aircraft, CAA SMR will accept without further review any STC that has been previously approved by the above National Aviation Authorities.  These STCs will be accepted when CAA SMR first issues the aircraft with a Certificate of Airworthiness.

The CAR 21 | Certification of Aircraft addresses the certification of aircraft and related products, parts and appliances.

Reference Documents
CAR 21
Certification of Aircraft